
 

STATE OF NEW YORK  
COUNTY OF CATTARAUGUS: DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
 
In re: 2019-Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) 

 
STANDING PUBLIC HEALTH DIRECTOR’S 
QUARANTINE ORDER FOR PERSONS WHO 
HAVE BEEN IN CLOSE CONTACT WITH A 

CONFIRMED POSITIVE CASE OF COVID-19 
 

Pursuant to Section 2100 of the Public Health Law 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 

 WHEREAS, 2019 novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) has been declared a communicable disease by the 

New York State Health Commissioner pursuant to §2.1(a) of the New York State Sanitary Code                                              

[10 NYCRR Chapter 1], and a reportable condition to the Cattaraugus County Health Department (the 

"Department") pursuant to §2101 of the New York State Public Health Law; and  

 

 WHEREAS, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has issued containment guidance 

which mandates the quarantine of individuals who have been a close contact. A close contact is defined as:  

General Public Setting: persons who are within 6 feet of a positive COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 

minutes or more over a 24-hour period during a time the case was infectious, regardless if masks were worn,  

Pre-K to Grade 12 School Indoor Classroom Setting: students being within 3 feet or teachers/staff who are within 

6 feet from the positive COVID-19 case for a cumulative total of 15 minutes or more over a 24-hour period during 

a time the case was infectious, regardless if masks were worn; and 

  

 WHEREAS, such containment guidance further directs local health departments to consider other factors 

such as proximity of contact and duration of exposure when deciding whether an exposure resulted in a close 

contact and therefore warrants mandatory quarantine; and  

 



 

 WHEREAS, the Department has received a report, pursuant to §2.10 of the State Sanitary Code and to 

§2101 of the New York State Public Health Law, that you have come in close contact with a confirmed COVID-

19 case; and  

 

 WHEREAS, pursuant to §2100 and §2120 of the New York State Public Health Law and  

§2.6 of the State Sanitary Code, the Department is authorized to take such steps as may be necessary to mitigate 

morbidity and mortality and to prevent transmission of disease to other persons; and  

 

 WHEREAS, the Department has determined that, in order to mitigate morbidity and mortality from 

COVID-19, that you must be confined to your home under such conditions as will prevent transmission of 

COVID-19 to others.  

 

 THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED that you remain within the premises of your home and follow the 

precautions and directions specified in the attached COVID-19 QUARANTINE INSTRUCTIONS (the 

"INSTRUCTIONS") and any additional instructions given by the Department to you by phone or in person. You 

may not leave these premises for any reason, including to go to work, or to attend school, unless authorized by 

the Department;  

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that you may not have direct personal contact with other persons who do 

not reside in your home except as authorized by the Department; and  

 

 IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that you shall cooperate with the Department’s efforts to monitor your 

compliance with this Order and the infection control measures outlined on the attached INSTRUCTIONS.  

 

This Order shall remain in effect until you have quarantined for five (5) days following the last day of exposure 

to the COVID- 19 positive case and have remained asymptomatic during the quarantine period.  



 

 

Exemptions to the quarantine include:  

1.  An asymptomatic close contact who has received a booster, completed the primary series of Pfizer 

vaccine within the last 5 months (> 2 weeks following the receipt of the second dose in a 2-dose series), 

or completed the primary series of Moderna vaccine within the last 6  months (> 2 weeks following the 

receipt of the second dose in a 2-dose series), or has completed the primary series of J&J vaccine within 

the last 2 months, (> 2 weeks following receipt of one dose of a single-dose series) and has remained 

asymptomatic will not need to quarantine, but must wear a well-fitting mask for 10 days after last date of 

exposure; 

OR 

2. An asymptomatic close contact who has been previously diagnosed with laboratory confirmed         

COVID-19, has since recovered, and completed their isolation period will not need to quarantine for the 

90 days following the end of their isolation as long as they remain asymptomatic, but must wear a          

well- fitting mask for 10 days after last date of exposure; 

 

This Order is the final administrative determination of the County of Cattaraugus in this matter. You may 

challenge the final determination by commencing a proceeding in the New York State Supreme Court pursuant 

to Article 78 of the New York State Civil Practice Law and Rules.   

 
DATED: January 5, 2022  
 
 
 

     
    ______________________________________________ 
    Kevin D. Watkins, MD, MPH 
    PUBLIC HEALTH DIRECTOR 
    COUNTY OF CATTARAUGUS 
 

 



 

WARNING 

 
FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS ORDER MAY SUBJECT YOU TO FURTHER ACTION 

BY THE PUBLIC HEALTH DIRECTOR, INCLUDING INVOLUNTARY DETENTION IN AN 

APPROPRIATE FACILITY OTHER THAN THE ONE SPECIFIED ABOVE, OR SUCH OTHER 

ACTION AS THE PUBLIC HEALTH DIRECTOR MAY DEEM NECESSARY TO PROTECT THE 

HEALTH OF OTHERS.  FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH THIS ORDER IS A VIOLATION OF THE 

CATTARAUGUS COUNTY SANITARY CODE ARTICLE I §5(a)(v), FOR WHICH YOU MAY BE 

SUBJECT TO CIVIL PENALTIES. FURTHERMORE, WILLFUL VIOLATION OF OR REFUSAL 

TO COMPLY WITH A HEALTH ORDER IS A MISDEMEANOR UNDER NEW YORK PUBLIC 

HEALTH LAW SECTION 12-B.  



 

 
Attachment A – Mandatory Instructions 

 
You must follow the instructions listed below for five (5) days following the last day of exposure to the 
COVID- 19 positive case , or until County Health Department staff say that you can return to your normal 
activities. 
Stay home except to get medical care 
You must not participate in any activities outside your home, except for getting medical care that is preapproved 
by the County Health Department. Do not go to work, school, or public areas. If you are leaving your home for 
pre-approved medical care, seek County Health Department approval for transportation. A private vehicle is 
preferred, but if not available, follow instructions of the County Health Department. 
Separate yourself from other people 
Stay in a specific room, except for such reasonable accommodations, such as to use the bathroom or other areas 
that you can use without coming into contact with other persons in the home. You must remain at least 6 feet 
away from other people in your home. If the bathroom is shared with others, it must be cleaned after your use, 
and before a non-infected person uses the facility, in accordance with the instructions below concerning “high-
touch” surfaces. 
Call ahead before visiting your doctor 
If you have a medical appointment, seek pre-approval from the County Health Department. If approved, call the 
healthcare provider and tell them that you have or may have COVID-19. This will help the healthcare 
provider’s office take steps to keep other people from getting infected or exposed. 
Wear a facemask 
If at all possible, you must wear a facemask if/when you are required to be around other people (e.g., sharing a 
room or vehicle) and before you enter a healthcare provider’s office. If you are not able to wear a facemask (for 
example, because it causes trouble breathing or because you cannot obtain one), people who live with you must 
wear a facemask if they enter your room, if possible. 
Cover your coughs and sneezes 
Cover your mouth and nose with a tissue when you cough or sneeze. Throw used tissues in a lined trash can; 
immediately wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds or clean your hands with an alcohol-
based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol, covering all surfaces of your hands and rubbing them 
together until they feel dry. Use soap and water if hands are visibly dirty. 
Clean your hands often 
Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds or clean your hands with an alcohol-based 
hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol, covering all surfaces of your hands and rubbing them together 
until they feel dry. Use soap and water if hands are visibly dirty. 
Do not touch your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands. 
Do not share personal household items 
You must not share dishes, drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, towels, or bedding with other people or pets 
in your home. After using these items, they must be washed thoroughly with soap and water. 
Clean all “high-touch” surfaces everyday 
Any high-touch surfaces, including counters, tabletops, doorknobs, bathroom fixtures, toilets, phones, 
keyboards, tablets, and bedside tables, must be disinfected frequently. Also, clean any surfaces that may have 
blood, stool, or body fluids on them. Use a household cleaning spray or wipe, and follow the label instructions.  
 



 

Monitor your symptoms 
Seek prompt medical attention if your illness is worsening (e.g., difficulty breathing). Before seeking care, 
call your healthcare provider and tell them that you have or may have COVID-19. If at all possible, put on a 
facemask before you enter the facility. If you are not able to wear a facemask (for example, because it causes 
trouble breathing or because you cannot obtain one), ask the healthcare facility for one as soon as you can. This 
will help the healthcare provider’s office take steps to keep other people from getting infected or exposed. 
Before seeking care, notify the County Health Department that you are developing symptoms, and obtain 
approval for your method of travel.  
If you have a medical emergency and need to call 911, notify the dispatch personnel that you have, or are 
being evaluated for COVID-19. If possible, put on a facemask before emergency medical services arrive. 
Instructions for household members 
Give any other members of your household the following instructions: 

• Make sure that you understand and can help the person follow their healthcare provider’s instructions for 
medication(s) and care. Help the person with basic needs in the home and provide support for getting 
groceries, prescriptions, and other personal needs. If you are unable to do so, notify the County Health 
Department and they will assist you in providing these essential services. 

• Monitor the person’s symptoms. If the person gets sick or is getting sicker, call his or her healthcare 
provider and tell them that the patient has laboratory-confirmed or suspected COVID-19. This will help 
the healthcare provider’s office take steps to keep other people in the office or waiting room from getting 
infected. Ask the healthcare provider to call the local or state health department for additional guidance. 
If the patient has a medical emergency and you need to call 911, notify the dispatch personnel that the 
patient has, or is being evaluated for, COVID-19. In both cases, you must also notify the County Health 
Department. 

• Household members must be separated from the patient as much as possible, and in all cases, must not 
share a bedroom with the patient. Household members should use a separate bathroom, if available, and 
if not, must ensure it is disinfected prior to sharing. 

• Prohibit visitors who do not have an essential need to be in the home. 
• Household members should care for any pets in the home. Do not handle pets or other animals while 

sick.   
• Make sure that shared spaces in the home have good air flow, such as by an air conditioner or an opened 

window, weather permitting. 
• Perform hand hygiene frequently. Wash your hands often with soap and water for at least 20 seconds or 

use an alcohol-based hand sanitizer that contains at least 60% alcohol, covering all surfaces of your 
hands and rubbing them together until they feel dry. Soap and water should be used preferentially if 
hands are visibly dirty. 

• Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands. 
• Wear a facemask if you are going to be in the same room as the person under quarantine.  
• Wear a disposable facemask and gloves when you touch or have contact with the patient’s blood, stool, 

or body fluids, such as saliva, sputum, nasal mucus, vomit, or urine.  
o Throw out disposable facemasks and gloves after using them. Do not reuse them. 
o When removing personal protective equipment, first remove and dispose of gloves. Then, 

immediately clean your hands with soap and water or alcohol-based hand sanitizer. Next, remove 
and dispose of facemask, and immediately clean your hands again with soap and water or 
alcohol-based hand sanitizer. 



 

• Do not share household items with the patient such as dishes, drinking glasses, cups, eating utensils, 
towels, bedding, or other items. After the patient uses these items, you must wash them thoroughly. 

• Clean all “high-touch” surfaces, such as counters, tabletops, doorknobs, bathroom fixtures, toilets, 
phones, keyboards, tablets, and bedside tables, every day. Also, clean any surfaces that may have blood, 
stool, or body fluids on them.  

o Use a household cleaning spray or wipe, according to the label instructions.  
• Wash laundry thoroughly.  

o Immediately remove and wash clothes or bedding at high temperature that have blood, stool, or 
body fluids on them. 

o Wear disposable gloves, if available, while handling soiled items and keep soiled items away 
from your body. Clean your hands (with soap and water or an alcohol-based hand sanitizer) 
immediately after removing your gloves. 

o Dry thoroughly using the warmest temperatures recommended on the clothing label. 
• Place all used disposable gloves, facemasks, and other contaminated items in a lined container before 

disposing of them with other household waste. Clean your hands (with soap and water or an alcohol-
based hand sanitizer) immediately after handling these items. Use soap and water if hands are visibly 
dirty. 

• Discuss any additional questions with the County Health Department or your healthcare provider. 
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